Indonesian men's water polo national team celebrates victory over Singapore in the 2019 SEA Games match on Thursday (11/28/2019). [Doc. PRSI]

The holding of the 2019 SEA Games has begun in the Philippines and Indonesia began sweetly by bringing home gold at a water polo sport. Not only became the first gold medal for Indonesia at the 2019 SEA Games, the achievement also made history for the Indonesian men’s water polo national team. Previously, Singapore always got gold in one of the aquatic sports. Because, for the first time the Indonesian men’s water polo national team could win a gold medal and beat the defending champion, namely Singapore. Besides, this also became the first gold medal for the Indonesian men’s water polo national team since it first participated in the SEA Games in 1997.

Singapore is the toughest team to hold the record 28 times SEA Games champion. Indonesia was able to break the Singapore team’s undefeated record at the Southeast Asian sports party, avenging their anxiety when they drew 4-4 in Kuala Lumpur two years ago where Indonesia had to be satisfied with silver for losing on goal difference from Singapore.

The opportunity for the Indonesian men’s water polo national team to win the gold medal came after Indonesia overcame Malaysia’s resistance by a score of 14-7. Previously, Indonesia was held to a draw by the Philippines in the inaugural match with a score of 6-6. Then, Indonesia won 17-2 against Thailand and surprisingly defeated Singapore in the next match.

Three consecutive wins and one draw put Indonesia at the top of the men’s water polo sports standings. Indonesian points can no longer be pursued by other countries’ teams. “I am very proud of the players and all the staff on the team who have helped and trusted us. We are historic, ending Singapore after more than 56 years. That means it is good and positive,” said the men’s water polo team coach Milos Sakovic as reported by.

Also Read:
Karisma Evi Tiarani Set a New World Record at the 2019 Para Athletics World Championship

The men’s water polo sports competition is followed by Indonesia, the Philippines, Malaysia, Singapore, and Thailand. The men’s water polo national team was strengthened by Putra, Mulia, Tarigan, Felliciano, Manik, Arifin, Budiman, Rinaldo, Uwayzulqarni, Mahmud, Putra, Dwicahya, and Alfariz.


Leave a Reply