Two of the 8 Indonesian students who participated in the 17th Zhautykov Olympiad (IzhO) International Science Olympiad in Almaty City, Kazakhstan. Source:

During a pandemic that is still hitting the world, especially in Indonesia, it turns out that there is still some Indonesian student who have made achievements in the international competition arena. The 17th International Zhautykov Olympiad (IzhO) Science Olympiad became a proving ground for the Indonesian Delegation represented by the Synergy Educating Tunas Negeri (Synergy) Foundation with a perfect score by winning 3 gold medals, 3 silver medals, and 2 bronze medals in the mathematics category, physics, and computers.

IzhO which was held on January 7-13, 2021 in the city of Almaty, Kazakhstan was attended by Indonesian Representatives led by Hendra Kwee, Ph.D, Zainul Abidin, Ph.D, Surya Wijaya, M.Sc, Ajat Adriansyah, S.Si, and Drs. Rudy Susanto.

Stanve Avrilium Widjaja (Indonesia) won a gold medal and a perfect score in mathematics. (DOC: Simetri)

The students who succeeded in donating medals for Indonesia were as follows:

  1. Stanve Avrilium Widjaja (IPEKA Plus BSD SMA) won the Gold Medal with a Perfect Score in Mathematics;
  2. Elbert Benedict (SMAK Penabur Gading Serpong won a Gold Medal for Mathematics;
  3. Peter Addison Sadhani (SMA St Aloysius Bandung) won the Gold Medal for Physics;
  4. Fernando Nathaniel Sutanto (SMA Santa Maria 1 Cirebon) won the Silver Medal for Computer;
  5. Gabriela Erin Mariangel (SMAK 1 Penabur Jakarta) won the Silver Medal for Mathematics;
  6. Andrew Janong (SMAK 5 Penabur Jakarta) won a Silver Medal for Mathematics;
  7. Edbert Halim (SMA Santa Maria 1 Cirebon) won the Bronze Medal for Computer; and
  8. Edgar Sulaeman (SMAK Penabur Cirebon) won the Bronze Medal for Mathematics.

Also Read: Indonesian Students Won Gold Medals at the IMO and 2020 Tuymaada International Olympiad

This year, IZhO was attended by 421 students for Mathematics, 290 participants for Physics, and 295 participants in the Computer Science category. Olympic participants come from various countries, namely Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bulgaria, Denmark, Georgia, India, Indonesia, Iran, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Mongolia, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Tajikistan, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Ukraine and Uzbekistan.

IZhO is organized by The National School of Physics & Math (NSPhM) and The Republican Scientific-Practical Center “Daryn”, and is supported by the Ministry of Education and Science of the Republic of Kazakhstan.


Leave a Reply