Lalu Muhammad Zohri won a gold medal at the 2019 Asian Grand Prix Malaysia. (Doc. PASI / re1)

The proud news comes from the world of athletics in the 2019 1st Malaysia Open Grand Prix competition at Bukit Jalil, Kuala Lumpur, Saturday (03/30/2019). Lalu Muhammad Zohri, the U20 athletic world champion, once again made an achievement by bringing home gold with a time of 10.20 seconds. Zohri left seven other runners away, including the host representative in the final of the men’s 100-meter race. In the position of two Malaysian runners, Zulfiqar Ismail posted a time of 10.41 seconds. Following third place was Taiwan runner Wei Hsu Wang, with a time of 10.44 seconds.

Despite winning, the man from North Lombok claimed he was not satisfied with the results he had achieved. “I am grateful for being able to provide the best for the nation and the state. Although I am honest, in a note, I am not satisfied with the time of 10.20 seconds,” Zohri told Tempo. The championship in Malaysia this time, according to Zohri and his coach, Eni Nuraeni, is intended to collect points as a requirement for the 2020 Olympic qualification in Japan.

In order to be able to take part in the 2020 Olympics, Zohri must be at least rank 56th in the world. While at present, he is still in the 70th position based on the site of the International Athletics Federation Association, although the page has not included Zohri’s winning points at the 2019 Malaysian Open GP. However, Zohri and Eni Nuraeni are optimistic that they can reach the target. “Next month he will go to Qatar, there will also be a world championship in September, and there will be many more tournaments that he must follow,” Eni said.

Also Read: Indonesian Runners Succeeded in Becoming the Best at the IAAF World U20 Championships 2018

Zohri’s victory received a positive response from Menpora Imam Nahrawi. Imam shared Zohri’s winning video on his personal Instagram account. Zohri’s figure began to become the center of attention when he became champion at the 2018 U-20 Athletics World Championship in Tampere, Finland, on July 11, 2018.
In the competition, Lalu Muhammad Zohri competed with seven other sprinters namely Daisuke Miyamoto (Japan), Michael Stephens (Jamaica), Henrik Larsson (Sweden), Thembo Monareng (South Africa), Dominic Ashwell (England), Anthony Schwarts and Eric Harrison who both are from the United States.

The entire sprinter managed to finish with a record time of 10 seconds over a distance of 100 meters. However, Zohri was named the champion because he has a better record than his competitors. Then Muhammad Zohri finished with a time of 10.18 seconds. Athletes from Lombok, West Nusa Tenggara are 0.04 seconds faster than Anthony Schwarts and Eric Harrison who occupy second and third place. According to Zohri, determination and strong enthusiasm made him able to become the fastest runner in the event.


Leave a Reply