The Indonesian Physics Olympiad Team Wins Medals at the Adelaide Olympics

Indonesia once again received valuable appreciation in international science competitions, this time coming from the 20th Asian Physics Olympiad or APhO in Adelaide, Australia. In the event held on May 5-13 2019, they won a silver medal, two bronze medals, and four Honorable Mentions. This year’s APhO is organized by Australia Science Innovations which is part of Australia National University.

There are 22 teams participating this year, namely Australia, Bangladesh, Cambodia, China, Taiwan, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Israel, Kazakhstan, Macau, Malaysia, Mongolia, Romania, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Turkey, United Arab Emirates and Vietnam.

All Indonesian students won medals at APhO this year. Silver medalist, Nixon Widjaja (IPEKA BSD Senior High School, Tangerang). Bronze medalists are Ivander Jonathan Marella Waskito (Sharon Christian School, Surabaya) and Hudzaifah Afif Al Fatih Nasution (MAN Insan Cendekia, Gorontalo), and Honorable Mention winners are Daffa Fathani Adila (SMAN 8 Jakarta), Gusti Putu Surya Govinda Atmaja (National Unity High School, Yogyakarta), Yuwanza Ramadhan (SMAN 1 Depok), and Muhammad Morteza Mudrick (SMAN 1 Surakarta).

These students are selected and fostered by the Synergy of the Indonesian National Educating Tunas Foundation (SIMETRI) for four months. This year’s team leaders are Herry Kwee, Zainul Abidin and Hendra Kwee. The Indonesian Physics Olympiad Team is grateful to Haryanto Budiman for his support for the formation and departure of the team. This year’s funding was also obtained through crowdfunding on the platform.

Also Read: Indonesia Managed to be the Best in the Competition for the 3rd ASEAN MATE Underwater Robot Competition

The success of the seven members of the TOFI 2019 won medals continued the long history of Indonesia’s proud achievements in APhO since 2000. Until this year, Indonesia has won 32 gold medals, 24 silver, 38 bronze and 57 Honorable Mention (HM). Nixon Widjaja (IPEKA BSD Senior High School, Tangerang) won a silver medal and was ranked 17th out of 160 participants. This year, the number of gold medals achieved by participants was nine, far less than in previous years which averaged more than 20. Only three countries won gold medals this year, namely China, Russia, and Israel.


Leave a Reply